&larr 1974
Nationals 1975
1976 &rarr

Home   Main Page   Participants   Rounds   Team Results   Top Quizzers   Memories  

The 13th National Bible Quiz Finals took place August 12-13, 1975 in Denver, Colorado at the Denver Hilton hotel covering the book of Acts. H.H. "Spud" DeMent was the National Coordinator and Brenton Osgood was the official question writer.

The event was won by New Sharon A/G, New Sharon, Iowa (pictured) which became one of a very select few champions to win Nationals with an undefeated record. The second place team was Ebony A/G, Ebony, VA which were the National Champions in 1973.

New Sharon A/G, New Sharon, Iowa

Aside from finishing with a perfect record, the team from New Sharon, Iowa was known for a unique style of hitting the buzzer at the time. Since the rules of that period stated that one could not place one's hands on the buzzer, this team perfected the flipping of the wrist which rested just below the buzzer. This technique gave them superior speed which, combined with their excellent knowedge of the book of Acts, propelled them to victory. Their championship was the second for the state of Iowa with First A/G, Newton, IA winning in the 1970 National Finals.

The top scorer at the 1975 National Finals was David Baird of Ebony A/G, Ebony, VA and third high scorer was Charlotte Beyer of New Sharon A/G, New Sharon, Iowa. While the complete team results for this event are recorded, we are still seeking to acquire the records for individual scoring. If you have any information related to this please e-mail biblequiz@me.com. To view a larger image of the program cover, please select the image at left. For more memories of this event, please read an account by Pen. Florida District BQ Coordinator, Tim McDaniel in our memories section.